Daily Left News

In advance of polling day, Left Foot Forward exclusively revealed the list of parliamentary candidates who had signed up to Palestine Solidarity Campaign’s six demands in the general election.

The group called for candidates to support the following positions in relation to the ongoing situation in Gaza:

An immediate ceasefire

Restoration of funding to UNRWA

An embargo on arms sales to Israel

Support for the International Court of Justice and the International Criminal Court to uphold international humanitarian law

Suspending trade agreements with Israel

Protecting the right to protest, boycott and divest from companies that are complicit in violations of international law

Now, Left Foot Forward can reveal which of those candidates were successfully elected to parliament.

The House of Commons will now have a total of 43 MPs who backed Palestine Solidarity Campaign’s demands. 19 of those are from the Labour Party, 7 are from Sinn Fein, 5 are from the SNP, three are from Plaid Cymru, 1 is from the SDLP and 1 from the Alliance Party. Three independent MPs signed up to the demands, including the former Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn. All four of the Green Party’s new MPs backed the demands.

The full list is as follows:

MPConstituencyPartySorcha-Lucy EastwoodLagan ValleyAlliance – Alliance Party of Northern IrelandCarla DenyerBristol CentralGreen PartySiân BerryBrighton PavilionGreen PartyAdrian RamsayWaveney ValleyGreen PartyEllie ChownsNorth HerefordshireGreen PartyShockat AdamLeicester SouthIndependentIqbal Hussain MohamedDewsbury and BatleyIndependentJeremy CorbynIslington NorthIndependentMark HendrickPrestonLabour and Co-operative PartyAbtisam MohamedSheffield CentralLabour PartyJohn McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabour PartyAndy McDonaldMiddlesbrough and Thornaby EastLabour PartyApsana BegumPoplar and LimehouseLabour PartyBell Ribeiro-AddyClapham and Brixton HillLabour PartyCat SmithLancaster and WyreLabour PartyClive BettsSheffield South EastLabour PartyDiane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabour PartyJess PhillipsBirmingham YardleyLabour PartyNadia WhittomeNottingham EastLabour PartyNaz ShahBradford WestLabour PartyOlivia BlakeSheffield HallamLabour PartyRichard BurgonLeeds EastLabour PartySarah ChampionRotherhamLabour PartySteve WitherdenMontgomeryshire and GlyndŵrLabour PartyValerie VazWalsall and BloxwichLabour PartyYasmin QureshiBolton South and WalkdenLabour PartyZarah SultanaCoventry SouthLabour PartyAnn DaviesCaerfyrddinPlaid Cymru – The Party of WalesBen LakeCeredigion PreseliPlaid Cymru – The Party of WalesLiz Saville RobertsDwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid Cymru – The Party of WalesDave DooganAngus and Perthshire GlensScottish National Party (SNP)Brendan O’HaraArgyll, Bute and South LochaberScottish National Party (SNP)Graham LeadbitterMoray West, Nairn and StrathspeyScottish National Party (SNP)Chris LawDundee CentralScottish National Party (SNP)Kirsty BlackmanAberdeen NorthScottish National Party (SNP)Claire HannaBelfast South and Mid DownSDLP (Social Democratic & Labour Party)Paul MaskeyBelfast WestSinn FéinPat CullenFermanagh and South TyroneSinn FéinChris HazzardSouth DownSinn FéinDáire HughesNewry and ArmaghSinn FéinJohn FinucaneBelfast NorthSinn FéinÓrfhlaith BegleyWest TyroneSinn FéinCathal MallaghanMid UlsterSinn Féin

Chris Jarvis is head of strategy and development at Left Foot Forward

The post These are the 43 new MPs who backed Palestine Solidarity Campaign’s six general election demands appeared first on Left Foot Forward: Leading the UK’s progressive debate.


We’d love to keep you updated with the latest news 😎

We don’t spam!

Original post

Leave a Reply

We use cookies

Cookies help us deliver the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Thank you for your Subscription

Subscribe to our Newsletter